Our Branches Of Government
Our Founding Fathers wanted a Government that did not allow one person to have too much authority or control.  Being under the rule of the British King proved to be a system that was not good for the people.  There was however, a need to form a Government that was centralized and strong to run our Country.

Why Three Branches?

Our Founding Fathers drafted the Constitution with three separate powers of Government that would carry out different task but also worked together towards the same common goals to ensure a Nation that was strong, with fair and just treatment of its people.  By doing this it prevented one branch from having sole power and decision making. Those branches of the U.S. Government set forth are the Legislative, Executive, and Judicial branch.

Legislative Branch 

The Legislative branch is made up of Congress and other Government agencies that provide assistance and support services for Congress.  Article I of the Constitution established this branch and gave Congress the power to make laws. Laws are written and discussed, and then voted on in Congress.  Congress is divided into two parts:  The House of Representatives and the Senate.  The Senate has 100 Members, 2 from each state.  The House of Representatives has 435 Members, with each state being represented by its population.
Executive Branch
The Executive branch makes the Laws official.  They also ensure that the laws of the United States are obeyed.  The President of the United States is the head of the Executive branch.  The Vice President, Cabinet Members (Appointed by the President), and other Independent Agencies assist the President with the Executive duties.


          The Leader of the Country and Commander in Chief of the military.
          Vice President:
          The President of the Senate.
          Advises the President on issues and helps to carry out policies.
          Cabinet Members:
          The Secretary of State
          The Secretary of the Treasury
          The Secretary of Defense
          The Attorney General (Justice Department)
          The Secretary of the Interior
          The Secretary of Agriculture
          The Secretary of Commerce
          The Secretary of Labor
          The Secretary of Health and Human Services
          The Secretary of Homeland Security
          The Secretary of Housing and Urban Development
          The Secretary of Transportation
          The Secretary of Education
          The Secretary of Energy
          The Secretary of Veterans Affairs

Judicial Branch
The Judicial branch is our Court system, with the Supreme Court being highest Court.  There are nine Justices, or Judges on the Supreme Court. ( Eight Associate Justices and one Chief Justice)  All are nominated by the President and approved by the Senate with no term limits.  Article III of the Constitution set forth the Supreme Court and Congress established the Federal Courts.  Courts decide arguments about the meaning of laws, how they are applied, and whether they break the rules of the Constitution.